Transcendence!

My entire body is still sore from the long travel home. My left elbow, The one I dislocated some couple of years ago is aching due to the weather of Cagayan and partially due to some stupid reason when I fell off my seat inside the bus.  Its a trip I’d rather forget in a day worth remembering. It is the day when Badoodles and His Bebe would exchange wedding vows.

I arrived at the Tuguegarao Cathedral at around 6:00 in the evening. The entire ceremony is about to kick off. The sponsors are ready for the entrance. I saw Badoodles standing infront of the pack. His face broke into a smile as he saw me approaching. But make no mistake, he is nervous. but come to think of it, who wouldn’t be nervous in their wedding day?. After a few laughs and some male-hormone-induced-verbal-fencing, I left him alone so he could do his thing.

I was standing alone at the back when I noticed that I wasn’t really dressed for the occasion. It is a formal attire accassion and guess what I was wearing. A rock shirt, jeans and a chuck taylor. Stupid me. 

The ceremony is about to begin when the videographer asked me if I could help in opening the Cathedrals massive door. I asked what for? the door is already open. He said it’s for the effects later. The door would open and Jude will walk slowly towards the altar. I said “Ok. I’ll do it”. They closed the door when the wedding march began. Me and the guy in a polo shirt stood behind the doors. I peep through the gap to see if other people are still outside, Instead I saw the bride standing on the other side, too close to the door. She appears calm but she’s breathing deeply. I whispered through the gap.

Ice: Relax, everything will be fine.

Jude: Who’s that?

Ice: Just relax, its your day. You’re beautiful.

Jude: Ron? is that you. hahaha Ikaw nga, good you can make it.( she recognized my voice)

Ice: Didn’t I tell you I won’t miss this for the world?

Jude: Dapat lang! Dapat lang!

It’s then when the videographer gave the signal to open the door. Then their Magic moments began. It was a walk that could have taken eternity to walk. I was there when it all began. Jude was a friend and classmate during my Paulinian days in Tuguegarao. Badoodles on the other hand is a friend since my Louisian days (school hopping was my hobby then), He was my first editor-in-chief in the Louisian Courier. We’ve been in countless absences together. Series of bull session, spent hour in panciterias, we debated against each other during provincial debate series, shared secrets, went to conventions together, we entered the lair of the Cordillera Peoples Liberation Army together (along with Waki, ehem, Waki) for an interview and also because no school paper has done it before, we even worked in the same company after college days. if someone would ask me to describe badoodles during those days, I would definetely tell them “Ink runs in his veins”. He maybe, just maybe the best Student Editor that ever held the the top post of the Courier, Even better than me (considering that I thought myself to be the best editor already, nyahahaha).

Their wedding also became a sort of reunion for old school paper friends, Liza was there, so is Lance and Sofi and Jose. Javi and Maeng was also in attendance. The old naughtiness just began working its magic again as if no time was lost. It was fun. It’s always good to have old friends around.  As the couple exchanges vows, I just can’t help but utter a silent prayer for them. These are good people who have some flaws like the rest of us, but still good people. They deserve to be happy. I whispered “Please make it work for them. With all my heart I want them to be happy. These two individuals are my friends”. I am happy for them.

And when I told them that I won’t miss their wedding for the world. I meant it.

Jude Rexx

(The photos are blurry but it served my purpose. Its not for me to show everything. If the couples wishes to show it to the world. It’s their option, afterall, It’s their moments)