Playing Memories in the Box of Smiles

Smell induces memories. It reminds us of things, of places, of times, of events that so long ago took place and was cramped up and locked into the lonely and forgotten corners of our mind. Waiting patiently to be revisited and smiled upon once more.

 

Whoever thought that rummaging through the dusty boxes in the forgotten nook in your house could be something that is worth doing?  Who would think that a simple dusty box sitting in the dark corner under the stair could pack so much smile.  Smiles that resonates from laughter dating back from many moons ago. Back when your muscles are less weary and your mind was less fogged. In the time when the heat of the sun is enough to warm your soul and the memory of the moon would keep you longing for the night. Back when things are much simpler.

 

Today, I was seating on my office chair. I was staring at my empty screen, watching the cursor blink. I can’t think but i needed to. I was pushing my brain to function too much, so much that I actually felt my head hurt. The pain seems to tear everything inside my head. I actually felt afraid that the pain would destroy so many stray memories I left along the corridors of my mind. I am in my mid 20s its to early to loose them.

 

I got out of my chair and stretched my back a bit. Ergonomic chairs are not as good as they are advertised.  Anna called for me from her chair, offering me a strawberry. I took one and smelled the fruit. It’s red and smells so sweet. I thanked Anna and went back to my chair and slouched. I closed my eyes and let my mind travel. The smell of the strawberry is so familiar. It smells like Christmas during my childhood; fun and carefree. It specifically smells like the strawberry perfume that my aunt, who was then working in Manila, gave my mother for Christmas. I remember putting the empty bottle of that perfume in that box along with my old doodle notes and some cheesy love letters written on linens with a sweet smell that I have received from pretty young ladies in high school back then. And some empty linen pads that I intend use for writing sweet nothings that I never had the guts to make happen. The box also contain the first six chapters of the novel entitled “Curtain of Smoke” that I began writing when I graduated from high school, something I am not so sure I could finish, Nevertheless, something that I enjoyed writing. In my life, that box contains my stash of smiles.

 

Sometimes I am amazed how we use the dig into the recess of our past to nullify the worries of the present. It is amazing how smell can put a smile back into our faces. It is amazing how playing memories from that box of smile could lighten up my day, even just from this ergonomic chair.

8 thoughts on “Playing Memories in the Box of Smiles

  1. i have a box full of old notes and letters too. notes we passed around when classes in school were way too boring for us to pay attention to whatever the instructor was saying. every once in a while, i take down that box from one of the shelves in my room. browse and read through some of them. reminisce a bit. i agree with you, life was much simpler then.🙂

  2. memory box namin nasa chest na ginawang center table ni mommy. ginawang base at pinatungan lang ng glass. Andun lahat ng mga memorable little things namin magfamily.🙂

  3. I am amazed how we use the dig into the recess of our past to nullify the worries of the present>>>>>>>So true. So true. I often do this. In fact, incidentally, my latest post has something to do with this.

    Dumaan lang po.

  4. ay ako rin, basta nakarating ako sa isang lugar, yung amoy ang naiiwan sa akin.

    at oo, mas marami akong memories na nakatago sa aking box of senses kasi yung mga materials memories ko e hindi ko na kayang bitbitin dahil sa bigat😀

  5. hmmm…medyo unti-unti ko na nakikilala si icey ah.

    *mid 20s ka pa pala, ate mo pala ako. kainis!
    *habulin ka pala ng mga babae huh. “some cheesy love letters written on linens with a sweet smell that I have received from pretty young ladies in high school back then”…ahem, talaga? naks!
    *eh ito, mas gusto ko to…”first six chapters of the novel entitled “Curtain of Smoke” that I began writing when I graduated from high school”…uuy, tapusin mo na ice tapos pwede manghingi ng kopya with matching autograph?

  6. napadaan lang…u inspired me a bit…doesnt show e. pagpatuloy mo so that people will understand the inner you….

    — Salamat sa pagdalaw. daan ka ulit.🙂

Leave a Reply

