Autumn Of Our Lives

autumn_landscape-wide

I could think of so many excuses why I refuse to grow old. And why not, it seems only yesterday when we were in college. Prime of our lives, people calls it; back when we were fun and cares less if the air-conditioning system is blowing a winter right into our young faces. How long has it been? Six years? Seven? a decade? I lost track. Honestly I stopped counting four years ago or was it five? Maybe six, Honestly, I lost track of that too.

Several days ago I learned that a close friend of mine in college have fallen ill.  My immediate reaction was to ask myself: are we that old? Or, is this thing called life finally found a way to catch up on us?

College was the glory days, when we were leaner and we never check ourselves for love handles. When we party like there is no tomorrow, when we were bulletproof and so cocksure about our steps and find music in our own laughter. Old those days are behind us now. We have gained several pounds and little heavy in the middle.

We have lost contact with most of our college friends. The roads of life lead to different destination and we face them all separately. We got tested by people and time and circumstances and life. We fought different battles and waged our own wars and found hate even amongst our friends and love in most unlikely places. And when we found ourselves adrift aimlessly in uncertainty we learned that family will always be home. Looking back now I realize how far apart we are from our college selves. We have drifted so far apart indeed.

We never thought of sickness back then. Back then we were immortals.  But that was a young man’s folly. I begin to feel my Achilles tendinitis now, more often than before. Begin dropping into gyms every now and then because I worry about my blood pressure.

How time flies, but then again, time is expected to fly. Right now is just temporary, the present will be tomorrows past. Gone were the days of come-what-mays but who ever said that our best days are behind us? There are always two ways to look at things; with a smile or with regrets. I choose to smile at my regrets and choose to believe that the bast days are still ahead. I could find so many excuses why I refuse to grow old, but why should I do that, I am having so much fun getting old each day. (11/06/13 6:42 PM, Ortigas Ctr, Pasig City).

5 thoughts on “Autumn Of Our Lives

  1. I still refuse to grow old (physically sometimes). Haha! I feel i’m more restricted to do a lot of things as i get older, so no to getting old. The only thing that i probably like about it is the maturity, the wisdom that comes with age. But even then, i know i can get that with experience somehow. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

